12 October 2018

Sorry! There's been an issue with our new finance system...

Everything you need to know

12 October, 2018 - If you’ve noticed unusual activity on your credit card from ChildFund New Zealand over the past few days, you’re not alone. On Wednesday morning, we experienced an unfortunate system error that unexpectedly debited our supporters multiple times.

We are very sorry for this inconvenience, and are working hard to ensure all duplicate charges are refunded in a timely manner.

Please rest assured that we are doing everything we can to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. In the meantime, we’ve pulled together some answers to the questions that may be on your mind. However, if you’d like to discuss your account with us, give us a ring on 0800 808 822.

Questions and Answers

1. Why are there multiple charges on my bank statement?

An automatic payment is set up to withdraw from your account as it usually does. However, due to a system error, this payment request was duplicated and unfortunately, some of our valued supporters have been charged multiple times. We have since issued refunds to all affected donors, which will also appear on your statement. If you were charged and haven’t received a refund by end of day on Monday, 15 October, please contact us on 0800 808 822.

We believe this to be an isolated incident, and are currently working to ensure this issue does not repeat in the future.

2. When will the additional charges be refunded to my account?

We have issued refunds for all affected supporters, which should appear on your bank statement in approximately 3 to 5 business days. Unfortunately, each bank processes this request differently, and we are unable to guarantee the exact date your refund will appear. . If you were charged and haven’t received a refund by end of day on Monday, 15 October, please contact us on 0800 808 822.

3. I don’t see the refund on my statement yet. Why not?

We’ve heard from a few supporters who haven’t yet received their refund. Whilst we have already issued refunds to all donors who were affected by this error, the processing times vary by bank. As a result, you may not see the refund until early next week. If you were charged and haven’t received a refund by end of day on Monday, 15 October, please give us a ring on 0800 808 822

4. The duplicate charges from ChildFund have triggered additional bank fees. What do I do?

In the unlikely event that you incur additional charges or bank fees, please contact us right away so we can resolve this issue. You can call us on 0800 808 822 or email info@childfund.org.nz.

5. How will this issue affect the children and communities where ChildFund New Zealand works?

We have been working to address this issue in a timely manner and, as a result, there will be no impact on the children or communities where ChildFund works. If you have a specific question about your account or the communities where ChildFund works, please contact us.

6. How can I ensure this type of error won’t happen again?

We’re committed to making sure we send as much of your donations to the children and communities where we work as possible. That’s why, we’re constantly working to improve our systems to reduce costs in New Zealand and increase the amount of money we send overseas. Most of the time, you won’t notice any of these changes. Unfortunately, this hasn't been the case in this instance.   We are diligent in monitoring our financial systems to ensure these type of issues are identified and addressed as quickly as possible. However, if at any time you’ve noticed an irregularity on your transaction record, please notify us right away.

We sincerely apologise for any distress and inconvenience this incident may have caused.

Spread the world

Share this story with your friends

More stories

View story archived for more